7 thoughts on “ “School Lunch in Japan – It’s Not Just About Eating!

  1. That’s awesome! I can’t see children here competing for more milk or fish. Most are fussy eaters but would probably enjoy the cleaning if it was allowed. I think it would be classed as child abuse. Parents would never allow it. Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

    1. That is the strangest thing I have ever heard! Teaching kids how to be responsible and clean up after themselves and learn how to be a part of a community- child abuse? Maybe this sort of thinking is part of the problem now. There seems to be a real problem with feeling entitled. Many young people especially in the west are having real social issues. Japan isn’t perfect by any means but I definitely don’t see the issues with the youth like I see in the west. Kids here learn reality at an early age. They all pitch in and help. They appreciate the food that is prepared for them. Junk foods aren’t allowed in schools. They eat good healthy food. Kids here love vegetables. At least all the kids I know. But the thought of teaching kids hard work classified as child abuse..😦 that doesn’t compute with me.

      Like

      1. I totally agree with you. My own children learnt from an early age the family is a team and we all pitch in. They loved it. They are trying to stop junk food in the schools and some parents went to the fence at lunch time and handed junk over in defiance of the rules. I thought the Japanese lunch was lovely.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen this first hand., both with young and older children. Not sure they were as clean as these children. At one tiny school out in the countryside, the children had chickens and used the eggs collected, also they had fruit trees and grew potatoes. I guess what I noticed is the large class size, that’s a whole lot of 5th graders!!!
    Also, at my school here in the US the children sweep under their tables after their lunch time. They don’t wipe the tables because of the disinfectant used the clean tables. Granted my school kids are a bit picky when it comes to food, but then so in my GS in Japan.

    Like

  3. This was a really excellent video. Thank you so much for introducing it to us! I am also surprised to read Jean’s comment that parents would not allow their kids to clean the classroom, and totally agree with your response that a sense of entitlement is the problem with kids back home today.

    Liked by 1 person

I really enjoy reading your comments or just seeing that you "liked" the post. It encourages me to write more.

