Posted in Blogging

Garden Woes and Changing My Attitude

I was so grumpy this morning. We have had nothing but yellow sand or rain. Yellow sand blown in from the Gobi Desert so thick that you can’t even see the top of the mountain.

I can count the number of nice days we’ve had this spring on one and a half hands. My tomatoes have some sort of blight / fungus from lack of sun and too much water. The snap peas are as skinny as can be. The green peppers are stunted and the rest of the veggies aren’t doing much better.
The big welt on my hand tells me the mosquitoes have arrived.
And today’s forecast…. โ›ˆ๐ŸŒง๐ŸŒง๐ŸŒงโ˜”๏ธ

That’s life.

As I was pondering this … looking out at the yard I noticed that the flowers seemed to be enjoying things.

The fish love their new mini pond and I think I’ll get a bright pink lotus to put in it when they are available in the garden center.

The colors of the flowers reminded me of my yarn colors and the piles of material swatches I have stuffed away into drawers….

And then I thought – well… I have been thinking about ramping up my crochet and sewing.

So maybe it’s time to plant more flowers and stop trying to run a trauma center for vegetables.

Anyways… The colors of flowers inspire my fabric and yarn art….

Before the rains started around 11am I went out side and cleaned up a bit. I pulled off as many tomato leaves as I could. Of course I couldn’t pull them all off or there would be nothing left to power the plant. I threw away a pile of twigs and roots that I forgot about. I read that keeping your garden tidy and trash free helps with keeping disease away.

The mint loves the rainy cool weather so I snipped off a bunch of it so that I could make mint tea.

I soak the leaves in cold water for a while and then rinse them several times to remove any dust and bugs. Then I take the leaves off of the stems and I gently squeeze and kind of massage them to release the oils.

I boil a big kettle of water and then turn it off after it comes to a boil. All of the mint leaves get dumped into the kettle, I put the lid on it and a piece of foil over the spout to keep all the oils and aroma in the kettle. I let it sit like that for several hours.

After several hours I pour the tea into glass bottles and put it in the fridge. It tastes delicious cold or warmed up a bit. We actually add nothing to it as it is naturally slightly sweet. You can’t believe how delicious it is! Even hubby loves it!

It has been a real challenge to stay cheerful throughout this “weather”. We haven’t really had a spring. It has rained an awful lot this year and when it isn’t raining we have had terribly high particulate matter readings as the sand from the Gobi Desert blows through. Usually after our dreary winter I am just itching to get outside in my garden.

I am thankful that I can “entertain” myself indoors with crochet, sewing, reading, writing…

I am actually never bored as I always find something that needs to be done or some sort of project to work on.

And soon….the rainy season will roll in!

I’m going to the states in June to see the kids…I think I’ll stock up on more yarn while I’m there!

But for the moment I’ll sit, look out at the rain and enjoy my yogurt, matcha, mint smoothie….

Author:

Loving life in rural Japan-writer,gardener,hiker, photographer,crochet artist, chief cook and bottle washer!

7 thoughts on “Garden Woes and Changing My Attitude

  1. You have inspired me to make mint tea from my garden also. Yes I stopped growing certain vegetables which don’t have a long enough growing season here and just enjoy what I do have especially the flowers. Any vegetables and herbs that make it are a bonus.

    Like

    1. I found myself getting stressed over my plants in years past and then I thought- that’s silly! So- now I’ll just grow whatever grows well in my little plot! Lots more fun! Enjoy your mint tea!

      Like

      1. I have a big yard – one acre. People are always commenting on how wonderful it looks – but I am quite the lazy gardener. If the plant is gonna pitch hissy fits, then out it goes. My only concession to babying is my roses. They are high maintenance but a garden wouldn’t be a garden in the portland area without them. I stress about getting my yard weeded as I don’t use chemicals, but I’m quite zen about that as well. It’s very therapeutic to weed and trim and fuss.

        Like

  2. I know that feeling when there is too much rain or cloudiness. Ugh! Though, like you, I am never bored, so I get a grip and occupy myself with the many obligations and interests that I have.

    Describing the mint tea making process had me craving it! Being a lover of tea, I wish had a cup of yours instead of the peppermint tea (in a tea bag) that I think I’ll have before I go to bed. Tomorrow, I’ll try the loose organic mint tea that my husband gave me as a Mother’s Day gift.

    Like

Thank you for your positive feedback! Negative comments will be flushed.

