Blossoms

IMG_5760

I believe I am correct to say that these were the first blossoms to emerge in the neighborhood!

As the spring draws near and the first shoots poke bits of green through sleeping earth and dry branches begin to show signs of life- I start to keep a keen eye on the old sakura across the street.

I know which branch will begin to flower first. I know this because I have been watching this tree now for over six years.

IMG_5763

It’s always the same branch that hangs over the stone stairs that are now almost buried under rotted leaves. Since Mrs. K passed away no one sweeps the stairs anymore. I’ve never seen any of her family since the day they came and carted off all her possessions.

When she was alive she too watched the tree. She used to stand on the stairs peering up into the branches, calculating the days when the first blossoms might emerge.

Without really thinking about it, I’ve taken over for her. As I stood on the top most step the other day taking these photos I thought of her.

IMG_5761

Next Sunday we will have our Hanami party. My inlaws are uber excited! I am so happy that we can do this for them. They can’t really do all the things they used to but as a family we try our best to help them enjoy things to the best of their ability. Fortunately our engawa faces the sakura tree so even if it rains-the party will go on!

Today was rainy, cold and quite miserable but looking at the forecast tomorrow and onward it looks as though perhaps spring blew in today with the thunderstorms. I see the temps are in the 60’s and 70’s for the week. I expect the garden will take off now.

As a matter of fact, I think I better get the potato sacks ready. It appears, according to my last year’s garden diary, that I’m late to get my potatoes in. Maybe that’s okay because it seems everything is a bit behind this year anyhow. At any rate-I’d better plan on doing that this week.

I saw the komatsuna, spinach and carrots have sprouted when I peeked at the garden this morning-before the thunderstorms moved in.

We’ve already eaten several salads from our lettuce.  Looking forward to the weeks to come! Grow garden grow!

8 thoughts on “Blossoms

  1. What a beautiful way to remember Mrs. K.! I wish you a wonderful Hanami party, honoring not only your in-laws, but also your neighbor.
    We are mostly thawed now, and are expecting temps in the 50’s. The creeks are running fairly full, and some are still flooding in low areas. I am looking forward to the skunk cabbage blooming and the emergence of new leaves!
    Thanks for the lovely flowers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What beautiful blossoms. Enjoy the season and your family. Wish I could be in Japan this time of year. On Spring Break this week, cleaning and purging closets! Not much fun, but needs doing. Happy Spring.

    Like

    1. Hi! Yes- it’s cherry blossom season- a wonderful lovely time here! Ah, yes- I remember classroom cleaning time.. I loved it and hated it… It meant summer vacation was coming soon but it also meant that I’d be releasing my ” kids” — we always cried at the school ending ceremonies.

      Like

      1. Praise God! Thank you! Me too. BTW, I hope you don`t mind I will `copy` the title from your post and use it too, its just so perfect for the season!!Blessings! Wishing you a beautiful day!

        Like

Thank you for your positive feedback! Negative comments will be flushed.

