Posted in Blogging

A Day of Buzzing Things

It is safe to say that early spring has arrived. It was such a lovely day today. After breakfast hubby decided to go hit a few golf balls at the local range and I had Sunday afternoon to myself.

Bright sun shining and temps in the upper 50’s – I heard the garden calling…

When we first moved to Japan I didn’t know a lot about gardening but I learned that if you pay attention the garden will teach you. I made lots of mistakes but I think the garden feels more confidant in my handling of it now. We seem to have developed a better relationship.

Our planting season starts now and I didn’t waste  a moment-my arms full of supplies I headed outdoors.

Taking a walk around I silently observed the little changes. There are buds on the blueberry bush now. I noticed fine threads also…little garden spiders have moved in already.

img_5250

I saw the Lenten Roses were blooming…they needed a clean up too…

img_5245

If you carefully observe the garden will tell you what to do. I set to work with clippers, shovel, rake. Vines were clipped and some clippings were potted in the hanging planters-the vines will grow lush and full and cover the old lattice at the back of the garden.

The back of the garden is also where my little garden tool storage is. Such a handy little space. It’s a kind of crawl space that goes back under part of the house. I use the front part of it to store my garden supplies.

Once I crawled way back in there with a flashlight. It was only later that I noticed a spider in there-its body about as big as my hand. Now I don’t venture in too far anymore.

img_7504

img_7505

As I dug around in the dirt turning over the clods I appreciated the smell of the earth. How many people long for such an experience. To toil in the sun-pruning and trimming and planning what vegetables will go where.

img_7492

My garden and I have a love relationship. It isn’t the biggest or fanciest garden around but it fits me. It is like me in so many ways. I heard people say when they see photos of my garden they see me…this is true.

As I worked around on my hands and knees, bent over or sitting on the cool earth -the season’s first buzzing things could be heard. A big black buzzing thing came lumbering by while I was clearing leaves out of the corner and tying up the long lanky leaves of the early Daffodils.

img_7508

Little tiny buzzing things flew madly around me as I trimmed the mint.

img_5265

Earthworms came wriggling up through the dirt that I had turned over. I love earthworms-they help me so much. I tucked them back under the soil and went about my business sticking my snap pea seeds in the ground by the trellis.

img_5273

Even the water garden was cleaned and the potted plants given a once-over. I saw new shoots and I smiled. They are coming…

img_7501

I remembered Mrs. Umbrella as I peeked over her wall into her garden. I wonder how she is over at the nursing home. I wonder if she misses her garden. What a lovely full garden it was! Every single morning at 5am she was outside taking care of it. Now…it’s rather sad. Most of the plants have been ripped out by her daughter. I saw a few flowers had come up on their own in one of the pots looking rather lonely and forlorn…as if waiting for her…and she never came.

img_5257

My 3pm snack of hot coffee and a small piece of cream-sponge cake was heavenly. I think the most expensive 5 star restaurant can’t beat sitting in my garden looking out over the valley and the mountains beyond.

img_7499

Soon the bush that looks like nothing more than a bunch of sticks now-will be full and lush and beautiful….filled with huge pink and purple hydrangea. It is already full of buds.

I was so wonderfully satisfied at the end of the afternoon. Things were cleaned, seeds had been planted…and dozens of seedlings were already coming up in my flower beds.

img_7509

Now it’s time to get to work doing the serious planning of what goes where. I have some idea but the rest will be hashed out this week.

Spring…wonderful spring…

 

 

 

 

Author:

Loving life in rural Japan-writer,gardener,hiker, photographer,crochet artist, chief cook and bottle washer!

6 thoughts on “A Day of Buzzing Things

  1. Still snowy here, but it’s warmer and starting to thaw.
    Gen 8:22  While the earth remaineth, seedtime and harvest, and cold and heat, and summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease. 

    Like

  2. Hi Connie. It is spring like here as well. Although eager to remove the dead foliage, I know that another bout of cold weather is around the corner and I don’t want to have the frost kill off my plants. Hailee and I did dig in the dirt on Friday it was in the high 50’s. We found 1 earthworm. Yes, it was wonderful! Can’t wait until I can start digging in earnest. Take care my friend.

    Like

  3. As always, love seeing your garden. The Lenten Rose is beautiful. I don’t remember seeing that type in Kentucky. If you have any ideas on getting rid of MOLES let me know. My yard is being destroyed!!!
    They are even in the flower beds.

    Like

  4. So nice that you’re able to fulfill your passion. Your mountains, your plants, your tools,… such a blessed environment. I hope your husband enjoyed his golf as much as you enjoyed your beautiful day.

    Like

Thank you for your positive feedback! Negative comments will be flushed.

