New Year and Change

Well here we are in the 6th day of the new year. I’m still wondering what happened to 2016?

You know what really scared me? Looking back over my goals for 2016 and realizing that I had not met any of them. I could write a million excuses about why  but I don’t want to waste any more time. I have a feeling that there are others out there who can relate.

Before the beginning of this year I decided that I was going to do things a bit differently. I’ll be honest with you-recently I’ve felt adrift without a motor. Not sure what my purpose is. Scattered. Questioning whether or not I am doing anything that really matters.

I’m sure that what I am feeling isn’t anything unique. Happens to lots of people.

But here’s the good news-I’ve been working on setting things right. I don’t believe in coincidence. Recently I was given a copy of A Story Worth Telling by Bill Blankschaen.

Now, I’m not much of a fan of “self-help” books but this one was different. It’s more like a workbook to help you determine your personal “life story”. I’m not going to go into details of the book-you can look it up on internet if you are interested.

I’ve not completed the first chapter yet and I can say that it has already helped me. I was able to sit down and write out a personal mission statement which in turn really helped me to focus on the aspects of my life that I deem important. Things that I need to be putting my energy into. That’s a relief already.

I am relieved to be making progress in the area of making positive changes.

This blog will of course reflect those changes. It has to because this blog is sort of a diary in may ways. So, while it will still be about “JAPAN” it will start to reflect those areas of my life that I put the most energy into.

I am also in the process of drafting a time-block schedule so that I can better manage my time making sure that I focus on the tasks that I really want to focus on.

I’m interested-do any of you write personal mission statements? Do you carefully budget your time to ensure that you are meeting goals?

Honestly, I want to live life intentionally-not as an after thought. I never had trouble with this until we moved to Japan and I didn’t work outside the home anymore. I put together a draft time schedule and I was shocked because I couldn’t fit all my activities into the schedule! I was stressed out just looking at the “to do” list. No wonder why I feel so exhausted so much of the time.

I spent some time analyzing those activities that needed to be cut or greatly reduced. Not such an easy thing to do when they all seem important. The book I’m reading is really helping me to understand my personal life goals and what I truly want from life. Nothing fancy or spectacular, I assure you.

I hope everyone had a super New Year. I was sicker than I have been in years with strep and the flu but….it was actually probably what I needed so that I could STOP and focus on making some necessary life changes. Many things came to me while I was lying on the futon trying to get over the grunge.

Happy New Year and best of everything to everyone.

 

6 thoughts on “New Year and Change

    1. Thank you- I have been working hard these past few days writing down things I hear him saying to me, reading some awesome material regarding making changes, taking a serious look at where I am and what I need to do to get where I should be. It’s no cake walk but I know it will be worth it.

      Like

  1. I have never been much of a planner or goal setter, at least not for the long term. But I did, once, write down where I wanted to be in five years. I set the list aside and forgot about it. Then, more than five years later I found it again and was amazed that most of what I had written had come to pass! I certainly didn’t consciously work toward anything on the list, but they must have been important!

    Best wishes in your quest!

    Like

    1. My quest revolves around intentional living and the desire to focus on only those things that are a part of my authentic “story”. In the past year especially Ive said “yes” to so many things that the important things have been squeezed out. It’s time to regroup and get back on track.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. About a year ago, my husband became a pastor of a very small church. It has been stressful. This past summer we had a Beth Moore ladies bible study. I had taken the study before & I thought it was really good. It ended up a disaster, most of the time, most of the women did not show up. A couple of them wanted to argue about the doctrine of the study. I won’t try that again. The past couple of months I’ve tried to teach the youth on Wednesday nights ( because there was no one else). I expected a certain level of maturity from these teenagers (9th grade), ye behave like 5 year olds! They do not want to sit & listen, all they want to do is look at their iPhones or cut up . There are so many problems too numerous to mention. My husband is also discouraged. Please pray for us, that we know Gods will Thank you for your blog! Anita

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

I really enjoy reading your comments or just seeing that you "liked" the post. It encourages me to write more.

