Posted in Around Town, Japanese Culture

Old Houses

Our narrow little lane seemed a bit wider today. I noticed that some of the brush had been cleared from the side. Upon closer inspection I saw what had been hidden under a tangle of vines and bamboo grown out of control.

dav

The old house had been buried under thick vegetation for years. In the six that we have lived on this little lane it was the first time that I had seen more than just the toilet pipe sticking out of the bushes.

dav

This is what the first homes built in this area looked like.

dav

There is no insulation in the walls. They were hot in the summer and cold in the winter. There is one next to it that is still in fairly good condition on the outside. At least twice a year I see a group of elderly folks cutting the grass and cleaning up around yard. I’m sure the house isn’t habitable anymore. A while ago I saw a mother cat and her kittens had made a home here as she was carrying them one by one inside through a hole in the wall.

dav

Right across from our house there is one of these old homes.

dav

It’s been two years now that Mrs. K has passed away. She had lived here all her life and was almost 90 when she died. Often when I am in the front garden in the morning my gaze rests on her home and I remember her beautiful voice as it came lilting into my garden. She was a karaoke teacher and used to practice singing  in the early morning.

Part of our house still has these type of walls- as the original home was actually one of these. It had been remolded a bit many years ago. The newer part is about 45 years old…the older parts 70 or so.

Hubby and I were chatting this morning over tea. He recalled his childhood winters. Of course there was no central heat in the house.  The ofuro (Japanese soaking tub-or bath tub) was not attached to the house-you had to walk a bit across the yard to get to the wood slat shack it was housed in. There were gaps in the wood walls and the winter wind whistled in making bath time pretty chilly in cold weather. He remembered one winter there were little piles of snow inside along one wall where the wind had driven snow through the cracks. When he was old enough it was his job to start the fire and heat the water for bath time.

How starkly opposite of how I grew up and yet here I am…living in rural Japan…without central heat all these years later. Life is interesting sometimes-isn’t it?

 

 

Author:

Loving life in rural Japan-writer,gardener,hiker, photographer,crochet artist, chief cook and bottle washer!

6 thoughts on “Old Houses

  1. When I was younger, I enjoyed photographing old, abandoned houses and barns. There was something beautiful in their decay…but now, I also see the remnants of people’s lives, and I wonder about the story the building would tell. The beauty is still there, but it is tempered by loss…

    Like

  2. i love the way you detail your life in Japan … i grew up in an old farm house in finland … wood was the heating method … i don’t know if they had electricity until the 60’s … it was a different, back to nature life … i am thankful for our electricity and gadgets, but life seemed to be more real at one time – blessings on you!

    Like

  3. As always I love your pictures. Trying to get ready for my trip and keep 22 kindergarten students from being too crazy for Christmas!
    Please let me know how to send my email to you.

    Like

    1. Hello Kentucky Lady. If you post your email in a comment I’ll grab your email but wont approve the comment (means no one will see it but me). That way will work best for me. Then I can keep my email private. I don’t publish it on my blog.

      Like

Thank you for your positive feedback! Negative comments will be flushed.

