Posted in Japanese Culture, Little things I love about Japan

Planting Winter Vegetables

I took time out from my catch-up. I think also I needed to get out and see the beauty and peace our creator has for us in this world. It’s been a while since I’ve explored the rice fields and cottage gardens where I love to wander.

There is a little service road that runs across the tops of the rice-fields from the farmers market. On one side there is a bamboo thicket and on the other the rice fields. It makes for a lovely little walk.

Today I saw the ancient gardener planting her winter crop. It gave me such joy to watch her work that I almost went down and asked if she needed help. I watched her and thought, work is good for us. Especially working outside. When you have a big garden to care for you have no time to complain about things that don’t go your way.

img_6127

I watched as she slowly hoed the ground. Little by little she loosened the soil until it was loose enough for planting her seedlings.

Not seeming to care about anything except her garden chores. I was lost in the moment with her.

img_6107

img_6128

img_6137

Working the soil with her hands not caring about anything except getting the seedlings in the ground.

There is so much on my heart right now. So much I want to say to thousands of people but it would be useless. Instead I’ll just say this. An honest day’s work is worth it’s weight in gold. Complaining gets you no where. We don’t always get what we want but if we are wise we know how to live and prosper under any conditions.

As I watched her work I felt such a deep appreciation for the simple things in my life. I too work in the dirt. Many times my hands look like hers and I love that. I love it because it means that I’m not wasting my time-I’m working the land and doing something useful.

Imagine what would happen if everyone would do something useful? Something to help someone else-something practical in love.

img_6139

Save

Author:

Loving life in rural Japan-writer,gardener,hiker, photographer,crochet artist, chief cook and bottle washer!

5 thoughts on “Planting Winter Vegetables

  1. I was mesmerized by the ancient gardener’s task as I read your words. Your photos helped me to remember all the movements we make when planting a garden; standing, bending, sitting, digging and then cradling the precious seedlings. I loved this piece; thank you.

    Like

  2. Such a good metaphor for what’s happening in the good ol’ U.S. of A. Perhaps your thousands of people are us. We should all get lost in our gardens.

    Lovely shots of this faithful woman.

    As seldom as I blog, I am always glad when I stop by here. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Thank you for your positive feedback! Negative comments will be flushed.

