Honey, I’m home!

Hello dear friends!

I have really missed you! Thank you for being patient with me while I left on an unplanned trip to America to visit my mother who had suffered an accident in her home and then developed pneumonia. I’m back home in Japan now. Mom was doing “OK” when I left. I’m thankful that she has so many wonderful people around her. I have no regrets throwing everything aside and hopping on a very long flight to see her. The way things are going it very well may be the last time….I pray not but I have to be realistic.

It was a very fruitful trip in so many ways. I was even blessed with the opportunity to see three of my very good friends from school. I had not seen them for 37 years! I think the best part about it was that we seemed to start-up right where we left off.

Wisconsin was absolutely beautiful this time of year. I didn’t have a lot of time to drive around sight-seeing as I was busy helping my mom but I did take my iPad with me in the car when my sister and I ran to the grocery store and such.

We did take a quick trip down memory lane….and passed by the home where we lived from late grade-school thru high school graduation.

The photos aren’t the best as they were quick “thru the car windows” shots.

This was our old road.

img_5685

The driveway of the house we lived in. When we moved in it was just a house on an empty lot. My parents planted over 300 trees on the property. Dad got the forest he imagined.

img_5678 img_5682

Even the horse barn that he built so long ago is still standing.

img_5680

The farm where I worked during summer vacations and at other times.

img_5690

Our church.

img_5694

Other places around town.

img_5861 img_5885

img_5848 img_5667 img_5910

It was like a time warp because it seemed like nothing much had changed.  I did get a brief chance to visit a friend of mine. The view from her home on the lake brought back lots of memories.

img_5614 img_5624

There were times when I had to swallow tears because this was my first trip back since dad has passed away. Everywhere I looked there were memories of him. I knew that sooner than later mom will follow him and when I saw her that reality really hit me hard. I could see that the four and a half years since dad had gone really took a toll on her. She told me a few days before I left that she was ready to leave too. I understood. Completely.

I had no chance to prep for NaNoWrimo. Couldn’t even think about it. I tried to catch up when I got home but….impossible. Too stressful. I was exhausted physically and emotionally. It’s the “emotionally” part that was the hardest.

That’s ok- I’ve no regrets. It was an extremely healing trip for me, my mom and my sister. I’m thankful and very blessed.

5 thoughts on “Honey, I’m home!

  1. Welcome home! I’m happy to hear that your mom is doing better and that your trip was fruitful. I enjoyed seeing photos of your hometown and neighborhood. What a beautiful area! Kudos for your father planting a forest. A lasting legacy for future generations.

    Like

  2. Glad your mom is better. Wisconsin is beautiful. I’ve never been. Thank you for blogging. Anita from North Carolina

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  3. Hi Connie,
    Thanks for sharing–it’s so hard to see our parents decline! I’m glad you had a warm, healing visit. Your photo memories are delightful, especially the jolly hay bales!

    Like

  4. Welcome home! Your trip back to your roots proved the journalist Ella Winter wrong when she told Thomas Wolfe, “You can never go home again”. You did, and you shared it with us with such a beautiful meadow of words. I’ve read this more than once.

    Like

I really enjoy reading your comments or just seeing that you "liked" the post. It encourages me to write more.

