Posted in Around The Yard&Garden, Cooking

Summer Tomatoes

I planted each seed and lovingly tended it. When the seedlings were about six inches tall I transferred them to the ground.

Last year I put the seedlings into pots and I didn’t have even half of the yield that I have this year. Not even close. They must like the garden much better. I have had buckets full of cherry tomatoes!

dav

The plants go all the way around the little path to the left. They grew so big that I didn’t plant anything else in my little plot.

dav

Each morning after I cook breakfast and bento I go out to water and pick whatever is ripe. I fill my apron pockets.

Our summer has been beastly hot and I’ve needed to water daily. Temps have been between 98-112 F. Last week with the heat index it was 122 degrees F. I think I said that in a previous post.

As I’m writing this I’m wondering why I didn’t add any mulch.

For a few days we’ve had it a bit cooler…around 95. Imagine…95 felt cool. This morning at 9:00 am it was already 98.

As I was filling up my pockets with tomatoes a wasp flew over my head and landed in the water garden to grab a drink. Everyone is thirsty. I drink gallons a day at the moment.

mde

We discovered that our favorite way to eat our tomatoes is grilled. I throw them whole into a fry-pan with a tiny bit of oil on low heat and just let them roast until they are soft and crack open. Sometimes I add a bit of garlic sauce or just a tiny bit of salt/pepper.

We eat virtually salt free so, many times I don’t add anything. Yesterday for lunch I threw a handful of tomatoes and several shishito peppers from my bush into a pan. I grilled them and then I threw in a handful of shredded cheese. I had a couple pieces of home-made whole wheat flat bread with it and a glass of ice-coffee. Awesome lunch!

As I was tending to the tomatoes today I realized something. I realized that my once long time dream of simple living was being realized.

Sometimes people think that “simple living” means “no work”. Nothing could be further from the truth. I do a lot of work by hand. I walk to do shopping and errands. The distances I walk are quite long…sometimes it takes me an hour one way to get to a certain store that I frequent. I am rarely idle because there is always something to do.

Simple life isn’t a life of idleness….but it is a life filled with peace and contentment.

But…. more on that later. The stars of this post were my tomatoes….

 

 

 

Save

Author:

Loving life in rural Japan-writer,gardener,hiker, photographer,crochet artist, chief cook and bottle washer!

8 thoughts on “Summer Tomatoes

  1. I envy you those luscious home-grown tomatoes! All your diligent gardening is reaping lovely benefits for you. As far as the heat, walking anywhere in such heat would make me fade very quickly. We’ve been having high 90s for weeks now with the occasional cooler 80s. So I totally understand your saying 90s seem cool after the 100s. It’s all relative sometimes, isn’t it!

    Like

Thank you for your positive feedback! Negative comments will be flushed.

