Posted in Around Town, Crafting, Design on a yen.

Patchwork Curtains and random scenery

There are times when I feel completely exasperated with things. Like right now. It’s silly stuff, nothing big really.

I’m sure the ladies (maybe a few guys) will be able to relate.

I really want to fix up our home a bit but there are so many issues….to move or not to move is the first and foremost issue. At the moment the move is on hold as Okasan has made a miraculous recovery and it seems no one need panic right now. Anyhow-we really would rather not move now…and then move again in the future.

The second issue is finances. We really don’t want to pour a lot of money into a place that we know is temporary.

But…….it’s driving me nuts not to be able to do much. I mean, it’s a great little old Japanese house. It needs repair in some areas that we must take care of or else we won’t be able to use a room or two. The wood used for the flooring was really thin plywood and it’s spongy in areas. If we don’t fix that soon we will fall right through the floor into the crawl-space under the house.

I made some very simple plans for a small organized sewing / craft area. There was furniture in the home and I kept a big wardrobe that I’m going to put shelves in to make it more functional. I’m really big on using what I have.

The wardrobe will be the central piece and plywood work counters will be made around it-or on the side, depending.

I’ve also stumbled upon several websites with tutorials and ideas on using fabric to spruce things up. I’ve fallen in love with patchwork curtains! I looked at them and I thought….hummm….what a cute way to brighten up rooms. I have some plans to make a few for open cabinet cover-ups and table skirts.

Pinterest is my friend. Have you done any cheap redecorating? Any ideas?

The pictures in the slideshow below are random “out of the car window” shots I took today on the way to the doctor’s office. They are raw-unedited and sorta blurry….but the scenery is beautiful!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author:

Loving life in rural Japan-writer,gardener,hiker, photographer,crochet artist, chief cook and bottle washer!

2 thoughts on “Patchwork Curtains and random scenery

  1. We are here for good… If we move it would be to my husbands hometown. We have a house there but MIL is living in it..this house belongs to my SIL… It was her parents- built in the late 1940’s!

    Like

  2. I’ve used material to cover a long storage area in my room at school. You’d be surprised how much I can store under there! I rotate indoor recess toys, etc. I use velcor to attach. I have 3 window and have used material to make valances. I don’t sew, so I use iron on tape to make a pocket. I guess the lazy man’s way!! I think bright material adds alot to a room. Good luck. Sorry, to hear your daughter has moved. Hope she lands in a good location in US. Laura

    Like

Thank you for your positive feedback! Negative comments will be flushed.

