In the garden today-or garden gone wild…

While we were away the garden went wild. I spent a day or so trying to reign things in a bit….These photos are the “after ” pics. I should have taken before shots I suppose but I was too concerned with trying to stop the kabocha from choking the living daylights out of the blueberries and peppers.

We were only gone a week but during that time the garden grew like crazy. In the midst of the rainy season here anything left alone will grow out of control.

dav

This is the first time that I’ve tried to grow cucumbers or kabocha. Both seemed to be thriving. I noticed dozens of baby cucumbers of the vine. It is also full of flowers.

IMG_4579

dav

I thought that the kabocha was doing ok too as I saw several little pumpkins on the vine but as I’m checking on them everyday I have noticed that they are turning yellow and falling off the vine. 😦

IMG_4580

dav

I googled the issue and I think perhaps the flowers are not being pollinated because it is the rainy season and the bees are hiding. If anyone in Japan has any advice about growing kabocha here please let me know.

I have a few blueberries coming on my new bush and there are baby cherry tomatoes hanging on the tomato vine.

I’m thinking maybe I should throw a net over them to keep the karasu out.

I’m praying for a nice little harvest this year. Last year was really hard because of the BUGS. I’m keeping a spray bottle armed with soap-spray out in the garden and I’ve used it quite a few times already.

Gardening is fun but it sure can be frustrating sometimes. We seem to have a really high insect population here. Slugs are my main enemy but there are others that also make my gardening life miserable at times. I use soap spray because I really don’t want to use chemicals on our food. I’m sure they are used on food we buy but I don’t want any in my garden.

Which reminds me…I need to do some research on attracting good insects that drive the bad guys away.

Something strange…our momiji tree in the front yard suddenly-and I mean like overnight-developed a bright red patch. There are momiji trees that are red all year long but as long as we have lived here this one has only turned orange-red in the autumn. My sister-in-law’s daughter was here (her grandparents owned this house) and even she was surprised because she never remembered the tree being red or any color but green during the spring and summer.

momiji

It looks kind of cool really…with that bright red patch in it.

Anyhow, I’m enjoying the rainy season doing a few crafty things indoors while I can’t really putter much outside. I finished up my first patchwork project. Well..I finished up the main block anyhow-now what to do with it. I’m thinking about making a few more and putting together a small lap blanket. That might be cute. I’ll think about it some more. This first one was just sort of a practice for me but I think it turned out okay. I’m learning about choosing colors and such. I just kind of used what I had on hand. I can see a few things that I would have changed. Next time I’ll use a darker color in place of where I used the white. It’s okay, I’m learning.

dav

I guess I’ll spend a few quiet moment sitting by the window in my spruced up camping chair-my favorite chair actually- and flip through Pinterest for more patchwork project ideas.

dav

While my early warning apps are firing off again….Kitakyushu is evacuating…landslides precaution…we’ve got bad weather here the past few days. Torrential rains and all that comes with it.

 

 

5 thoughts on “In the garden today-or garden gone wild…

  1. I had the same problem with zucchini. They would blossom and a young fruit would form, then it would suddenly rot and fall off. I heard the problem was pollination, too. I thought it was funny because back home, zucchini grow like crazy without needing to do anything.
    Your house block looks great. I like the warm glow coming from the windows.
    I also love the granny square afghan on your camp chair. So homey!

    Like

  2. Blossom end rot…too wet for the plant is one thing and not enough calcium. Some even use broken up Tums for placing around the plant. As to pollination, I break off the male blossom and lightly brush it against the female blossom. Some use a small brush on the male and then brush the female blossom. Bees are the key. No bees no pollination. Serious problem with all those killer sprays killing off the bees. NOT allowed in Oregon finally!

    Like

  3. Not sure about the pumpkins, but maybe too much rain and not enough sun. For slugs, cut a beer can or cola can in half. Then fill with beer. Dig a hole and bury the can to ground level. Slugs will drink the beer and not get out of the can. Also if you spread crushed eggs shells around plants slugs will not cross over the salt. This works for my hostas. Only things I can grow!!!

    Like

I really enjoy reading your comments or just seeing that you "liked" the post. It encourages me to write more.

