More earthquakes! 

2:00 am – we are sitting here in front of the TV watching the alerts come one after the other. We were jolted out of bed by another big earthquake.  My earthquake alarm on my iPad won’t stop screaming. My heart is pounding and I’m trying to calm down. Yes, I’m scared. This is downright frightening. 

The one that woke us up around 1:30am made the entire house sway violently. I think I had just fallen into a deep sleep and being violently jolted awake is terribly disorienting. 

The epicenter is about an hour and a half from here. I can only imagine what those poor people are going thru! We are getting the waves from the big jolt they are getting. 

We had earthquakes in Saipan but nothing like this! My husband said even here they aren’t used to quakes like this. We live in an area that rarely experiences earthquakes. 

Ok – I feel a bit more calm now. Maybe hot chocolate or some tea might do me good. I sure hope this shaking stops but I’m guessing we are in for more…. according to what the news guy said we aren’t through the woods yet. 

 

13 thoughts on “More earthquakes! 

  1. I was thinking about you this morning while at work. I do hope they are tapering off now. Janine sometimes tells me about her earthquakes in kyoto. We seldom notice our earthquakes here, but our geologists tell us we are due a big one. Most of ours are well below 4.0.

  2. Poor Connie! I know what you are going through. It’s awful, isn’t it!!!!!! Hang in there! It’ll die down, I hope. The worst for you (I hope) is over.

  3. Please stay safe. Just received email from Kagoshima. Long, scary night but at least the baby slept. I did tell them about your “bug out bab” (reminds me of MASH).
    They said they were ready. I can only hope and worry.

    Take care

  4. So glad to hear there is no damage in your area. Very surprised to wake up this morning to news of your biggest quake and the fact that the one two days ago was a precursor to this one. I must check my earthquake kit too. I think it hasn’t been checked since I put it together on 3-11, though I intended to check it every year on 3-11 from then on. Praying for safety and calm and no more big quakes!

  5. Hi Connie
    I’m sorry to hear that you are being shaken around so much down there. We really feel for you up here in Fukushima. I remember that swaying feelings and the terror every time there was an aftershock. Please stay safe and take care.

  6. i just sent you an email to ask how you were – but then i thought to look at your blog! oh Connie … how scary for you all !!! prayers following you … hopefully the earth has stopped shaking!

Leave a Reply

