Aside

need technical advice

***Update for anyone who cares–>  I seem to have fixed the issues I was having by updating the device. Something so simple…. gah.

I can usually figure things out but this time I’m stumped. I have 2 tablets. One is an iPad mini that I have no trouble with.

The other is an android- a Fujitsu Arrows that I really like except for the fact that I can’t pair it with my devices, namely my Fitbit and my Canon power-shot camera. I have tried uninstalling the apps, restarting Bluetooth, redoing the Internet connection. Nothing works. I would really like to fix this issue so if anyone has any idea please let me know.

Problem in a nutshell is that I can not pair my Fitbit or my Canon camera with my Android tablet.

11 thoughts on “need technical advice

  1. Ian L. McQueen says:

    Probably of no use to you whatever, but I have found the Canon Canada people very knowledgeable and very helpful. You might be able to get the same level of assistance from Canon Japan. Between you and your husband the language difference will not be a problem.

    Like

  2. I’m not familiar with those devices, but BT troubleshooting usually follows the same few steps. Are the devices you are trying to connect to your tablet already paired with something else? Have you placed these devices in Discovery/Pairing mode?

    Like

    • I’m so sorry-I must have missed this comment when I was traveling. I did figure out half of the problem. I updated the software on my tablet-that took care of the pairing between my fitbit (fitness tracker) and the tablet. I’m still working on the camera. It pairs fine with my Ipad but I’m having trouble with the Japanese tablet. I may take it to my provider to see if they know what’s wrong. Thanks for the comment and help!

      Liked by 1 person

        • Travels were smooth- I’m back home again. I was just reading your post about the Oregon trail- couldn’t find a place to comment ( no worries I understand if you don’t have a comments section). I thought the train info was interesting and was thinking to myself… I wish the Japanese train system was so nice and comfortable! We live in the countryside and I rarely ever ride the trains but I thought I could get myself from Narita to Sagamihara once by train- HA! All went well until I got to Shinjuku station- a nightmare. I was alone, couldn’t read Japanese and was totally bewildered. Thank God for the kindness of strangers! Who knows where I would have ended up. Even my Japanese friends here said they wouldn’t go through Shinjuku unless they absolutely had to. It seems to be one of the most confusing train stations in all of Japan.

          Like

          • I close out the comments after a few weeks. You can always reach out here https://paulciano.org/contact/

            The public transportation system in Portland was great. Being from Long Island, I have often dreamt about living somewhere that did not require a car.

            I’m sorry you had a bad experience in Shinjuku. Do you use Google Translate at all? They have a feature where you can take a picture of a sign, and the app translates it for you. It is not the most efficient way to get around, but it might help in a pinch.

            Like

          • Well.. It’s funny… We don’t have anything but regular old flip phones- no iPhones here. We aren’t anti tech but we are kind of old-fashioned about some things. Also I guess- we see everyone – everywhere with their noses buried in some sort of device when we are out and it’s been a major factor in deciding that we’d rather not have that as a temptation. Sometimes it seems we are the only couple actually talking to each-other- lol.

            I do use google translate here in the house but many times the Japanese – English comes out so strange you can barely understand it. I’m not sure if it works better with other languages. I think probably I should push myself to learn the language more. I speak/ read/ write 2 other languages besides English….and I’m ok at Japanese conversation- it’s just reading and writing that’s such a bear! Gah! With over 2,500 ( or something) characters to learn it’s been a middle-age challenge for sure!

            Like

          • I understand what you mean. I often think about the effects of technology and its effects on our societies. In the end, I don’t think tech is necessarily good or bad, it is how it is used that matters.

            If you get a smartphone, but are careful with what apps you install, what services you use, and how many notifications you let through, you should be able to utilize it in a positive way. This is especially true when traveling 😉

            I am working on learning other languages, so I think it is awesome that you’re already a polyglot. Learning a little more Japanese will certainly be better than relying on apps, but doing both might be the best way to go.

            Like

          • Thanks for your thoughts. I agree- I don’t think technology is the problem – but rather how people use it. We are kind of – how shall I say- minimalist. That’s the main reason we only have the bare bones. If it weren’t for the kids and grandkids I wouldn’t even have Internet. In our area most people don’t have Internet. The Japanese countryside is still very much behind in many ways- but we enjoy that.

            Like

          • I think minimalist is a good way to go, and if you ever find that you don’t like the influence that some technology you have adopted is having on you, you can always scale it back.

            Like

I really enjoy reading your comments or just seeing that you "liked" the post. It encourages me to write more.

