The haps’ in my world…

This is one of the busiest times of the year for me personally for many reasons. Busy times come in cycles for me. Right now I’m in an upswing of activity. Activity is good though-I think. I would hate to sit around with nothing to do. That would drive me nuts.

Aside from the usual chores and daily cooking…

bento 045
A sampling of the daily bento I cook for hubby…
bento 069
the aftermath of breakfast and bento….

I just hosted the first annual ladies Valentine’s Day Tea. Valentine’s Day in Japan is messed up-in my opinion. Instead of me writing about it you can read this article to find out all about it.

Anyhow, the ladies had never celebrated Valentine’s Day in any special way until yesterday and I have to say that I am SO GLAD that I put in the effort to do this for them! We had the most wonderful time!

valentinesday 025

valentinesday 037

I had little gifts for them. I found these cute little tea cups with pink hearts and I made some little heart-shaped coasters out of felt. They got to take these home.

valentinesday 040

Since it’s hard to find any Valentine’s table accessories here I had my daughter send me a few things …..she sent a table cloth, plates, napkins, boxed chocolates and other sweets.

A special “shout-out” to you daughter…the items you sent really helped to make the party special! xxoo

I made a couple of heart shaped cakes and the ladies each brought small treats to share.

valentinesday 052

valentinesday 066

Mrs. A made an origami candy box and filled it with chocolates! She is so good at paper crafts!

valentinesday 073

We made each other Valentine’s Day cards to put into our “Valentine’s mailboxes” that we made last week.

valentinesday 068
Valentine’s Day Mail boxes!

I was so impressed with their creativity!

valentinesday 103

valentinesday 108

valentinesday 116

It was such a warm and cozy little tea party and it has sparked an idea inside….women here seem to lack these sorts of opportunities to come together as women in a fun, friendly and intimate environment… to talk, share and just have fun.

Humm..well…another idea (perhaps) on the drawing board.

I’d like to end this post with some personal thoughts. You might think, from my blog posts, that I live a life without trials, worries, problems…that couldn’t be further from the truth. I have all of those in generous helpings.

One thing that I have learned over the years is that focusing on them does not help me. I don’t ignore the troubles in my life-but I also do not allow them to grow any bigger then they already are. That’s why I rarely, if ever, blog about them. In my daily life I keep myself busy with “life”. Work is a great gift to us, I think. To me it is anyhow.

Chores are a given and they can’t be helped but besides the chores I try to use the rest of my time to do something that will help others in some small way. I continue on, forging through difficulty or troubles that might come my way. We all have those. They are a given part of life. I deal with mine and continue on.

This blog is a part of my “continuing on”. I hope it helps someone in some small way.

 

4 thoughts on “The haps’ in my world…

  1. How wonderful for you to give them a valentine’s day party. It’s always fun to have friends over for tea. I want to figure out how your friend made the origami box – so pretty. Do the outer parts separate into individual boxes?
    My blog tries to be in a happy place. I agree wholeheartedly with you about keeping busy and trying to make the world a better place. I actually need my blog. It helps put things into perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HI!
      The picture is of the box cover-the cover and the bottom of the box are the same-they fit into each other to make a “box” but I have NO idea how she made it! Im horrible with origami.

      Like

I really enjoy reading your comments or just seeing that you "liked" the post. It encourages me to write more.

